Architectural details like these found in Norfolk Virginia's 1904 Carnegie Libraryatrium are fascinating. The Beaux Arts Classical library was designed by the Boston firm of Herbert D. Hale and Henry G. Morse. Located in the West Freemason Street Area Historic District the building has been restored as commercial office space. It served as the city's main library until 1964 when the modern Kirn Memorial Library opened on City Hall Avenue. The Kirn is now being demolished to make way for The Tide light rail transit line and the main library has moved into the nearby Seaboard Building; another downtown landmark destined to make an appearance on this blog in the future. Canon 40D, 1/50s, f/6.3, ISO 200, Canon 17-55mm f/2.8 zoom to 33mm.